Cover
No cover available.

How England Made the English - From Why We Drive on the Left to Why We Don't Talk to Our Neighbours

Author
Mount, Harry
Price
NZ$18.00
Stock
0
Variations
Description

The English national character is principally an accident of geography and weather. In How England Made the English, Harry Mount scours the length and breadth of the country to find the curiosities, idiosyncrasies and peculiarities that have made us who and what we are. Harry Mount's How England Made the English is packed with astonishing facts and wonderful stories. Why are English train seats so narrow? It's all the Romans' fault. The first Victorian trains were built to the same width as horse-drawn wagons; and they were designed to fit the ruts left in the roads by Roman chariots. For readers of Paxman's The English, Bryson's Notes on a Small Island and Fox's Watching the English, this intriguing and witty book explains how our national characteristics - our sense of humour, our hobbies, our favourite foods and our behaviour with the opposite sex - are all defined by our nation's extraordinary geography, geology, climate and weather. You will learn how we would be as freezing cold as Siberia without the Gulf Stream; why we drive on the left-hand side of the road; why the Midlands became the home of the British curry. It identifies the materials that make England, too - the faint pink Aberdeen granite of kerbstones; that precise English mix of air temperature, smell and light that hits you the moment you touch down at Heathrow...

Format
Second hand Paperback
ISBN
9780670919147
Catalog
SKU
123771

TO SUM IT UP...

  • Arty Bees Books is Wellington's largest independent seller of new and used books.
  • Shop online and pay by credit card or bank deposit.
  • Send us a book query if you can't find what you're looking for.